image 1 of overview
Since 2001, the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) has established bilateral Working Holiday Scheme arrangements (the Scheme) with the Government of New Zealand, Australia, Ireland, Germany, Japan, Canada, Korea, France, the United Kingdom, Austria, Hungary and Sweden respectively.  The Scheme not only facilitates cultural exchanges between Hong Kong and our partner economies, but also helps enhance bilateral cooperation and promotes tourism and development.
Under the Scheme, participants may stay in Hong Kong for an extended period (for a maximum stay period of one year, except for Austria of which the maximum stay period is 6 months).  Successful applicants will be issued a working holiday visa by the Immigration Department of the HKSAR.  During their stay, they can engage in short-term employment, or even enrol in short-term course(s) (except Ireland).
Through these first-hand living and working experiences, the youths from participating economies will be able to acquire a better understanding of the cultural and social developments of Hong Kong.
image 2 of overview
As a dynamic Asian hub where East meets West, Hong Kong has everything to offer – from cosmopolitan lifestyle to mouthwatering delicacies and intriguing encounters – and is a perfect working holiday destination for all adventurers.  Visit the official tourism website to plan your travel within the city.

Scenic Highlights
Hong Kong is famed for having two world-known theme parks to accommodate kidult at heart.  Ocean Park, opened in 1977, is a spacious park featuring marine-themed attractions for the thrill-seekers and shows to promote environmental awareness.  The relatively younger Hong Kong Disneyland, opened in 2005, promises magical encounters with the presence of their beloved characters in rides and performances.
image 1 of travel
For those who wish to explore the traditional side of Hong Kong, head for the inland area for Wong Tai Sin Temple, Temple Street night market or the Ladies' Market, where you would also be able to get good deals for souvenirs.  Besides, you can have a glimpse of the Western culture by visiting the Lan Kwai Fong and other areas in the Central District where foreigners clustered.
To get some fresh air out of the skyscrapers, people love to visit the Peak locating on the highest point on the Hong Kong Island for a spectacular view of the cityscape.  You may also opt to take the ferries and make a stop in the outlying islands for a tranquil retreat.  If you are a nature lover, Hong Kong has plenty of hikes and beaches which are just short journey away from the hustle and bustle waiting for you to explore.

Dining
As a food paradise, Hong Kong would never let the visiting foodies down.  It offers a wide range of delicacies, from international to regional Chinese cuisines and local flavours that could not be found anywhere else.
image 2 of travel
Dim Sum, bite-sized steam food from Guangdong served with tea, is usually on the top of the list of the tourists given its great variety and taste.  Cha chaan tang (Hong Kong-style teahouse), on the other hand, makes up a crucial part of the indigenous dining culture, offering affordable and unique delicacies like Hong Kong-style milk tea, pineapple buns and egg tarts.  Street food counting mini egg puffs and fish balls can easily be spotted in the local neighbourhood and offers a taste of the local flair.
Get to know more about the food in Hong Kong at http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/dine-drink/index.jsp.

image 3 of travel
Shopping
Hong Kong is a popular shopping destination known for its tax-free system and competitive pricing.  Shopping malls are packed with international brands to offer upscale and quality fashion products and work of arts, while local street markets and shopping streets are full of surprises for the bold explorers.  Some of the distinctive local shopping streets include Apliu Street Market selling electronic products and Des Voeux Road West selling dried seafood.
Learn more about doing shopping in Hong Kong at http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/shop/index.jsp.   The Tourism Board of Hong Kong has established the Quality Tourism Service Scheme to accredit retail merchants who have sound accountability.  Find out how you can shop with more confidence at http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/shop/qts-scheme/index.jsp.

Map
An interactive map of Hong Kong showcasing useful tourist information is available at http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/plan-your-trip/travel-kit/map.jsp.
According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and our partner economies, working holidaymakers can engage in short-term employment during their stay in Hong Kong under certain conditions.
To search for jobs available in Hong Kong, please visit webpage of the Interactive Employment Service of the Labour Department.
Know your work rights
Working holidaymakers are allowed to take up short-term employment as an incidental aspect of their stay with a view to supporting their travel expenses while acquiring a better understanding of the cultural and social developments of Hong Kong.  Working holidaymakers are protected by the law of Hong Kong.  They should be aware of the relevant labour legislation in Hong Kong and be cautious in dealing with the terms and conditions laid down in the employment contracts.
image 1 of work
The statutory minimum wage in Hong Kong is HK$34.5 per hour with effect from 1 May 2017.  Additional information on relevant labour legislation and protection can be found at the Labour Department website.   Working holidaymakers can seek assistance from the Labour Department for workplace dispute.

image 2 of work
Working Holidaymakers are reminded that information about work conditions and labour laws of Hong Kong provided in this webpage are for reference only and subject to change.  For comprehensive and updated information, please refer to the relevant government websites.
According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and our partner economies, working holidaymakers can enrol in short-term course(s) (except Ireland) during their stay in Hong Kong under certain conditions.
image 1 of study
image 2 of study
Hong Kong has a well-established education system and world-class institutions to suit study needs of all kinds.  Classes are mostly bilingual so fitting in would not be a big problem for English-speaking foreigners.
Chinese language and culture is a common study field among working holidaymakers in Hong Kong.  Universities offer a wide diversity of Chinese language courses, both for Cantonese and Putonghua, and in various proficiency levels and duration.  For instance, the Chinese Language Centre of the Chinese University of Hong Kong offers separate programs for native and non-native speaking students.  Certificate level, seasonal and short courses are available.  Learn more at: http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/clc/new/en/.
It is easy to find accommodation in Hong Kong, no matter whether you are looking for decent hotels or budget options like guesthouses or youth hostels.  For safety purpose, make sure you only stay with licensed hotels or guesthouses.  The full list of licensed hotels and guesthouses can be found at the website of Office of the Licensing Authority under the Home Affairs Department:
http://www.hadla.gov.hk/en/hotels/index.html.
image 1 of accommodation
image 2 of accommodation
Please visit the following websites for more information:
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/plan-your-trip/accommodation/index.jsp
http://www.hkha.org (Official Hong Kong Hotels Association booking website)

The transportation network in Hong Kong is well-developed and highly reliable, making transit within the city fast and easy.  The extensive Mass Transit Railway (MTR) subway system, together with buses and minibuses, make up a crucial part of the city's public transportation.  Those who wish to comfortably travel from point to point can take the more pricey option – taxi – while those who wish to peep into the old days of Hong Kong can ride on a ferry or a tram.
image 1 of transportation
To make your journeys smoother, get an Octopus Card (a stored-value electronic card) after you have landed Hong Kong.  You can use it on most of the public transportation, and even in convenience stores and supermarkets.
image 2 of transportation

Hong Kong has a sub-tropical climate. Summer is humid and hot while winter is mild.  The typhoon season, during which thunderstorms and strong winds are expected, typically begins in May and ends in November.
image 1 of climate
image 2 of climate
The official weather forecast can be found with the Hong Kong Observatory.

Here we have gathered a number of hands-on tips to facilitate your trip planning and settling in Hong Kong.  If you have done a working holiday in Hong Kong and have a tip or two to share, please email your thoughts to whsu@labour.gov.hk!
  • The Hong Kong Observatory app is a must have so that you can keep on top of the weather situation and check for any rain or storm warnings.
  • Always look up, the most interesting shops and restaurants are usually higher than ground level
Sarah Allen (2015-2016 Hong Kong)
I really like Shek O beaches. It's easy to get to by bus or taxi and there is plenty of food and drink stalls, you can hire umbrellas for some much needed shade and the water is usually calm enough for a nice swim or some paddleboarding
Sarah Allen (2015-2016 Hong Kong)
One useful language tip is when you are in a cab and you want to stop somewhere, just say "lido lido" meaning "here here". Other useful words are "maiden" to ask for the bill in a restaurant, "mhgoi" for thanks and "jousahn" for "morning"
Gentiane Gastaldi (2015-2016 Hong Kong)
Must-go places:
  • Dim Sum restaurants
  • Ocean Park (the best attraction park I have done so far)
  • Star ferry (pier 7) to cross the Harbour
  • Sai Kung for seafood and wonderful hikes!
Gentiane Gastaldi (2015-2016 Hong Kong)
  • Make sure you get an Octopus card (Ba Da Tun) to save time and money when buying things and using public transport
  • Use public transport as much as you can and get to know the routes
Jonny Blair (2011-2012 Hong Kong)
  • Do a crash course in Cantonese so you can understand some of the language
  • Joining clubs and societies allows you to meet other people in the same boat as you - other foreigners
Jonny Blair (2011-2012 Hong Kong)
Besides Chinese festivals like the Chinese New Year and the Dragon Boat Festival, Hong Kong also has some great indigenous celebrations counting Cheung Chau Bun Festival (around May) and Tai Hang fire dragon dance (in Mid-autumn festival). Make sure you won't miss them!
Visiting museums would be a good and pleasant way to learn more about the city. Public museums like The Hong Kong Heritage Museum, Hong Kong Museum of History and Hong Kong Space Museum even offer free admission on Wednesday!
I think Hong Kong people are used to eating out, so you have to make a reservation to eat out especially for dinner. There is a service charge usually when you eat in restaurants. Wine and beer is relatively cheap because there is no tax on them in HK
Jessie Won (2016-2017 Hong Kong)
  • You have to get a license issued by the City Council for busking in the city. Fees may be charged.
  • You may place a name card with your contact information during busking in order to attract jobs.
Yoyo Wing (2011-2012 Australia)

Note: The useful tips provided in this webpage are the authors' own opinions and for reference only.  Working holidaymakers are advised to research thoroughly and check up for updated and verified information before departure.

關於簡介的圖片1
自2001年起,香港已先後與新西蘭、澳洲、愛爾蘭、德國、日本、加拿大、韓國、法國、英國、奧地利、匈牙利、瑞典及荷蘭政府簽訂工作假期計劃的雙邊安排協議。此計劃除了可增強本港與夥伴經濟體系的文化交流,亦可提昇雙邊合作以及推動雙方的旅遊業與發展。

在工作假期計劃下,參加者可在香港最長逗留一年。成功申請的人士,可獲香港特別行政區入境事務處簽發一張工作假期簽證,容許他們在香港從事短期工作,及/或修讀短期課程(愛爾蘭除外)。

夥伴經濟體系的青年人可以透過在香港生活和工作,加深對香港文化及社會發展的了解。
關於簡介的圖片2

作為東西文化交匯的亞洲樞紐,香港盡顯時尚都市魅力,繁華的城市面貌、叫人垂涎的美食與層出不同的驚喜相遇,令這個城市成為絕佳的工作假期目的地。快來到訪 官方旅遊網頁 ,計劃好你在香港的旅程吧!

旅遊觀光
香港擁有兩個世界知名的主題樂園,為充滿童真的人們帶來難忘體驗。海洋公園於1977年開幕,主要以海洋為主題,不乏刺激的機動遊戲,亦有表演節目宣揚環保訊息。香港迪士尼樂園則於2005年開幕,以可愛的卡通人物打造夢幻遊樂設施和表演節目,歡欣滿載。
關於旅遊的圖片1
如果你想發掘香港的傳統一面,不妨到城市的心臟地帶去。黃大仙祠和廟街夜市充滿本地風貌,而通菜街(俗稱「女人街」)更是便宜手信的集中地。另一方面,中區西方色彩濃厚,如蘭桂芳等地往往聚集不少外國人,非常熱鬧。

想要換個環境,暫時離開摩天大樓密集的市區,可選擇到香港最高的太平山頂,瞭望整個城市。那裡的景色目不暇給,難怪會備受旅客熱棒。你亦可以乘搭渡輪,到各個特色島嶼去,渡過一個寧靜的假期。假如你喜歡大自然,香港也有很多風景宜人,而且離市中心不遠的遠足徑和沙灘。

美食推介
香港是一個美食天堂,絕對不會叫饞嘴的你失望。這裡雲集全球多國和中國各大菜系的美食,本地特色佳餚更是別樹一幟。
關於旅遊的圖片2

香港的粵式茶樓供應精緻點心,種類很多而且十分可口,很受旅客歡迎。要一嚐本土風味,就不得不到茶餐廳去了。茶餐廳是香港飲食文化不可或缺的一環,供應廉價獨有美食,如港式奶茶、菠蘿包和蛋撻等。走到街上,林林總總的街頭美食更是應有盡有,千萬不要錯過本地人最愛的雞蛋仔和魚蛋。
你可以在以下網站取得更多香港的美食資訊:
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/dine-drink/index.jsp

關於旅遊的圖片3
購物
香港的稅率低,商品相對便宜,所以不少旅客都喜歡到香港購物。大型購物商場匯集世界知名的品牌,優質的高級時裝和精品琳瑯滿目。另一方面,本地的市集和購物街則為敢於探索的人們帶來驚喜。鴨寮街和俗稱「海味街」的德輔道西是其中兩條充滿特色的街道,前者主要售賣電子用品,後者則遍佈乾貨海味店。

購物資訊詳情可見http://www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/shop/index.jsp。香港旅遊發展局推行「優質旅遊服務」計劃,為旅客推介值得信賴的零售商戶。瀏覽以下網站,了解如何可以更安心消費:
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/shop/qts-scheme/index.jsp

地圖
以下網站的香港地圖,備有相關的實用旅遊資訊:
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/plan-your-trip/travel-kit/map.jsp

根據香港政府與夥伴經濟體系簽訂的雙邊工作假期計劃,工作假期參加者可於逗留香港期間從事 短期工作 ,惟需受有關條件限制。
如需要在香港尋找工作,可瀏覽勞工處 互動就業服務 網站。

勞工權利你要知
在香港逗留期間,工作假期參加者可以從事短期工作,以補助旅遊的費用,並同時了解香港的文化及社會發展。工作假期參加者受香港法例保障。他們應該留意香港的勞工法例,在簽署僱傭合約前,亦須了解清楚當中的條款。
關於工作的圖片1
由2017年5月1日起,香港的法定最低工資是每小時港幣34.5元。欲知更多有關香港勞工法例和保障的資訊,可瀏覽 勞工處 網頁。工作假期參加者如需就工作糾紛尋求協助,亦可與勞工處聯絡。

關於工作的圖片2
工作假期參加者必須注意,此網頁提供有關香港工作條件及勞工法例的資訊只供參考及可能會不時更改。若需要更詳細和最新的資訊,請瀏覽相關政府網頁。
根據香港政府與夥伴經濟體系簽訂的雙邊工作假期計劃,工作假期參加者可於逗留香港期間修讀 短期課程 (愛爾蘭除外),惟需受有關條件限制。
關於進修的圖片1
關於進修的圖片2s
香港擁有完善的教育制度和世界級學府,絕對能滿足不同的學習要求。學校的課堂通常都以雙語進行,以英語為母語的外國人在適應上通常不會遇到太大困難。

中國語文和文化是一個熱門的進修範疇,備受來香港工作假期的青年人歡迎。不少大專學府都因應不同程度和課程長度的需要,設計出多個粵語或普通話語文課程。以中文大學的雅禮中國語文研習所為例,就分別有為外語以及非外語人士設立的學習中文系列。詳情可見 http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/clc/c_index.htm

想了解更多有關在香港修讀短期課程的資料,可參考以下網站:
http://www.gov.hk/tc/nonresidents/studyinghk/
http://www.studyinhongkong.edu.hk/hk/
http://www.hkwelcomesu.gov.hk/chi/studying.html

無論是高級酒店,抑或經濟實惠的賓館和青年旅社,你都很容易在香港找到理想的下榻地點。為確保住得安全放心,切記要入住持牌旅館。持牌旅館名錄可見民政事務總署牌照事務處網頁 http://www.hadla.gov.hk/tc/hotels/index.html
關於住宿的圖片1
關於住宿的圖片2
更多住宿資訊可瀏覽:
http://www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/plan-your-trip/accommodation/index.jsp
http://www.hkha.org(香港酒店業協會官方訂房網站)

香港交通網絡發展成熟,而且可靠度高,市內四通八達。公共交通以地下鐵路、巴士和小巴為主,收費較昂貴的的士則提供「點對點」舒適搭乘服務。想體驗一下香港昔日的風情,不妨坐坐歷史悠久的渡輪或電車。
關於交通的圖片1
為了讓你的旅程更快捷順利,可在抵步後購買一張八達通卡(電子儲值卡),如此在公共交通工具上、甚至是便利店和超級市場繳費,就方便得多了。
關於交通的圖片2

香港屬於亞熱帶氣候,夏天炎熱,冬天也不會過於寒冷。颱風季節普遍為五月至十一月,颱風一旦來襲,就會帶來像強風和雷暴等極端天氣。
關於氣候的圖片1
關於氣候的圖片2
香港天文台 則提供官方天氣預測資訊。

我們收集了一些實用貼士,幫助你籌備香港工作假期,投入當地生活。如果你曾到香港工作假期,又希望分享你的心得,就立即將想法電郵至 whsu@labour.gov.hk吧!
  • 要取得即時天氣資訊,如暴雨或惡劣天氣警告提示等,就記得下載香港天文台的流動應用程式了
  • 逛街時不妨多點向上望,特色商店和餐廳很多時都在樓上
Sarah Allen(2015-2016香港)
我很喜歡石澳泳灘,位置方便(可乘巴士或的士到達),又有很多餐廳和士多,怕曬的則可以租用沙灘傘。泳灘則很適合游泳和滑浪
Sarah Allen(2015-2016香港)
要讓的士司機知道你的目的地,可說「lido lido」,其他有用的詞彙包括:在餐廳結帳時說「maiden」、表達感激時說「mhgoi」、早上打招呼時說「jousahn 」
Gentiane Gastaldi (2015-2016香港)
必到景點:
  • 茶樓(吃點心)
  • 海洋公園(我至今認為最棒的景點)
  • 乘坐天星小輪(7號碼頭)橫渡維多利亞港
  • 西貢(吃海鮮和遠足!)
Gentiane Gastaldi(2015-2016香港)
  • 記得購買一張八達通卡,買東西和乘搭公共交通工具時都可以用,節省時間
  • 盡量使用公共交通工具,熟悉一下它們的路線
Jonny Blair(2011-2012香港)
  • 讀一個廣東話速成班,讓你可以對這個語言有基本的認識
  • 參加一些群組或組織,認識多些同樣在香港生活的外國人
Jonny Blair(2011-2012香港)
除了農曆新年和端午節等中國傳統節日外,香港也有不少特色本地慶典,如長洲的搶包山活動(約在5月)和大坑舞火龍(在中秋節舉行)等。不要錯過啊!
參觀博物館可以讓你輕鬆了解香港更多。一些公共博物館如文化博物館、歷史博物館和太空館等,逢星期三更是免費開放的!
香港人很喜歡出外用膳,如果需到餐廳用餐(尤其是晚餐),記緊預先訂位。大部份餐廳都需要收取服務費。香港的洋酒和啤酒並不需收稅,所以相對較便宜
Jessie Won(2016-2017香港)
  • 在城市內賣藝,要到當地的市議會(City Council)申請,有些城市可能要收取費用。
  • 賣藝時可準備一張名牌介紹自己和附上聯絡方法,吸引工作機會。
Yoyo Wing(2011-2012澳洲)

提提你:以上各個實用貼士乃屬提供者的個人意見及只供參考。工作假期參加者在出發前應做好資料搜集,以取得最新和有效的資訊。