Frequently Asked Questions
  • What are the differences between the Working Holiday Schemes and ordinary visit visas or student visas?
  • Young people who have successfully applied for admission to the Schemes will be issued a Working Holiday Visa or relevant documentation, including a Letter of Introduction to exchange for a work permit, by the relevant consulate for them to stay lawfully in the host economy to travel and take up short-term employment.  Ordinary visit visa or student visa holders are not allowed to work in the economy when they are visiting.  For details, please approach the relevant consulates.
    Top
  • Are there any restrictions on age and number of times of participation under the Working Holiday Schemes?
  • People aged between 18 and 30 are eligible, and in general each of them may visit the same economy only once under the Working Holiday Schemes.  For details, please approach the relevant consulates.
    Starting from 1 November 2005, working holidaymakers who have completed at least three months of specified work in regional Australia while on their first working holiday visa, would be eligible to apply for a second working holiday visa.  For details, please visit www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/417-.
    Top
  • How long is the validity of the Working Holiday Visa or the relevant documentation?
  • Participants in the Scheme of the United Kingdom may stay in the host economy for a period of up to 24 months.  Holders of the Working Holiday Visa or relevant documentation may stay in other host economies for a maximum period of 12 months.  For details, please approach the relevant consulates.
    Top
  • Is an insurance plan a must for all Working Holidaymakers?
  • The Working Holiday Schemes with New Zealand, Ireland, Germany, Japan, Canada, Korea, France, the United Kingdom, Austria, Hungary, Sweden and the Netherlands require applicants to take out insurance plans throughout their stay in those countries.

    Working holidaymakers, especially for the Australia Working Holiday Scheme, are strongly advised to take out suitable medical (including repatriation), hospitalisation and liability insurance policy before their departure to cover the possible related cost incurred abroad.
    Top
  • Will the HKSAR Government provide subsidies/accommodation for the participants?
  • No. Participation in the Schemes is voluntary.  Participants should work out their own itineraries, prepare enough funds to meet their travelling expenses and hold a travel ticket. In considering the applications, the relevant consulates will require the applicants to produce financial proof and return tickets for reference.  For details, please approach the relevant consulates.
    Top
  • What should I do in case of emergency?
  • You should approach the local government authorities or the relevant Chinese Embassy or Consulate for assistance, or call the 24-hour hotline of the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit (AHU) of the Immigration Department at (852) 1868.

    Please refer to the following websites for further information:
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China: www.fmprc.gov.cn
    Immigration Department of Hong Kong: www.immd.gov.hk
    Top

常見問題
  • 工作假期計劃跟一般旅遊或留學簽證有什麼分別?
  • 成功申請工作假期計劃的話,你會獲有關領事館簽發一張工作假期簽証或相關文件,包括可換取工作許可證的介紹信,以合法地在當地旅遊和從事短期工作。一般旅遊或留學簽証持有人不能在當地工作。詳情可向有關領事館查詢。
    頂部
  • 工作假期計劃有沒有年齡限制?參加次數有上限嗎?
  • 凡介乎十八至三十歲的人士均可參加,基本上每人只能參與同一經濟體系的工作假期計劃一次。詳情可向相關經濟體系的總領事館查詢。
    由2005年11月1日起,曾到訪澳洲的工作假期計劃參加者可選擇第二次到訪,唯其必須曾在澳洲的特定地區從事特定工作最少三個月,詳情請瀏覽澳洲政府的網頁: www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/417-
    頂部
  • 工作假期簽證或相關文件有效期為多久?
  • 英國的參加者可在當地逗留不超過二十四個月。持有其他經濟體系的工作假期簽証或相關文件的人士可於當地逗留最長十二個月。詳情可向有關領事館查詢。
    頂部
  • 工作假期參加者是否一定需要購買保險?
  • 新西蘭、愛爾蘭、德國、日本、加拿大、韓國、法國、英國、奧地利、匈牙利、瑞典及荷蘭的工作假期計劃均要求參加者就他們在當地逗留期間購買保險。

    本處十分鼓勵工作假期計劃參加者,特別是澳洲工作假期計劃的參加者,在出發前投購適當的醫療(包括治療後運送)、住院和責任保險,以分擔就參與計劃期間在當地可能需要支付的有關費用。
    頂部
  • 特區政府會否為參加者提供資助/住宿安排?
  • 不會。此工作假期計劃為自願性質,參加者必須自行安排行程、具備足夠旅費,以及交通票方可參加。而有關領事館在審批申請時,亦會要求參加者出示經濟証明及回程機票以作參考。詳情可向有關領事館查詢。
    頂部
  • 若遇上緊急事故,應該什麼辦?
  • 參加者應立即聯絡當地政府部門尋求協助,或與駐當地的中國大使館或領事館聯絡,或致電香港入境事務處「協助在外香港居民小組」二十四小時求助熱線(852)1868。

    詳情可瀏覽以下網頁:
    中華人民共和國外交部:www.fmprc.gov.cn
    香港入境事務處:www.immd.gov.hk
    頂部