The Hong Kong/Japan Working Holiday Scheme was established on 1 January 2010 with both sides providing an annual quota of 1,500. The Consulate-General of Japan requires applicants to provide financial proof of 200,000 Yen for maintenance during their initial stay in Japan.
Image 1 of overview
Successful applicants may be issued a Working Holiday Visa by the Consulate-General of Japan in Hong Kong, allowing them to stay in Japan for up to 12 months. They can take up work incidental to their holiday and/or enrol in short-term study courses during the authorized period of stay. Details and application forms can be obtained from the following websites:
http://www.hk.emb-japan.go.jp/eng/
http://www.vfsglobal.com/japan/Hongkong/English/index.html
Participants are required to take out medical (including repatriation), hospitalisation and/or liability insurance before departure to cover the possible related costs incurred abroad.

Image 2 of overview
Detailed arrangements of the Scheme may vary from time to time. Applicants are advised to check with the Consulate before application.

The official tourism website of Japan presents comprehensive travel information, counting highlighted attractions, recommended routes, local culture as well as trip-planning assistance.
Image 1 of travel
Scenic Highlights
Japan, the mastermind behind the world's leading technology and electronics, is a highly rated vacation destination. Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and Sapporo in Hokkaido are some of the popular cities among the tourists, and with a distinctive climate the country offers unique travel experience in different seasons.
Natural wonders, especially the volcanic landscapes, offer stunning views and boast world-class resort areas. Mount Fuji, challenging climbers with a height of 3,776 metres, is essentially one of the country's most iconic landmarks. Chūbu-Sangaku National Park locating in Honshu, together with the Japanese Alps, features some of the highest peaks in the country.
Abundant in Japan, Shinto shrines and temples illustrate the long-rooted religious traditions of the country. Miyajima at the Hiroshima Bay houses the Itsukushima Shrine, which major structures rise out of the water at high tide. The historic city of , on the other hand, houses the Seven Great Temples.

Dining
Japanese cuisine, which is also called Washoku, represents the traditional dietary wisdom of the locals and is named an Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in 2013. Freshness is highly emphasized in Washoku, and dishes are usually satisfying both in terms of taste and appearance. A haute version of Washoku would be the Kaiseki Ryōri, an elaborated meal with bite-size gourmet in small plates.
Sushi, sashimi, tempura, miso soup and ramen are staples in local diet, while regional variations present due to different recipes. After a long day of travel, you can consider visiting the Izakaya, or Japanese-style bars, to relax and unwind just like the locals.

Image 2 of travel
Map
Check out an interactive map of Japan at http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/location/regional/maps/.

According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the Japanese Government, working holidaymakers can take work incidental to their holiday during their stay in Japan. According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the Japanese Government, working holidaymakers can take work incidental to their holiday during their stay in Japan.
The scheme is based on the principle that any employment that working holidaymakers take up is intended to supplement their travel funds while they are on holiday. There is no particular restriction on how long they may work in any employment they find. Working holidaymakers can learn more about the types of jobs they may take up at http://www.hk.emb-japan.go.jp/eng/working_holiday.html and http://www.hk.emb-japan.go.jp/eng/working_holiday_Q&A.html.

Image 1 of work
Know your work rights
Working holidaymakers are protected by the law of Japan. They should be aware of the relevant labour legislation in Japan and be cautious in dealing with the terms and conditions laid down in the employment contracts.

The minimum wage in Japan is determined according to region and industry. Where an employee is subject to two different minimum wage rates, the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage. The minimum wage in Tokyo is 985 yen per hour in 2018. Working hours in Japan must, in principle, not exceed 40 hours per week or eight hours per day excluding breaks.

Additional information about the working holiday programmes in Japan can also be found at Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan's website at http://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/w_holiday/index.html.

Working holidaymakers in Japan may seek assistance at the Employment Service Center for Foreigners (in Tokyo, Osaka and Nagoya) as well as at some of the regional national public employment security offices ("Hello Work"). Please visit the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare's website at http://www.mhlw.go.jp/english/policy/employ-labour/employment-security/foreignworkers.html for details.


Image 2 of work
Working Holidaymakers are reminded that information about work conditions and labour laws of the respective host economies provided in this webpage are for reference only and subject to change. For comprehensive and updated information, please refer to the relevant government websites of the respective economies.

According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the Japanese government, working holidaymakers can enrol in short-term study courses during their stay in Japan.
Image 1 of study
Image 2 of study
Learn more about studying in Japan at
http://www.studyjapan.go.jp/en/.

Japan offers a range of accommodation to suit your needs and budgets, including youth hostels, home stay and rental apartments.
Image 1 of accommodation
Explore the accommodation options in Japan at
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/accomodations/index.html.
Image 2 of accommodation

Japan has a comprehensive transportation network and you may choose to travel around by underground, railway or buses to different scenic spots and destinations. The railway systems in Japan are well-known for its safety and punctuality. In addition, some transportation companies provide "Rail Pass" for tourists.
Image 1 of transportation
Image 2 of transportation
Learn more about travelling in Japan at
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/transportation/index.html.

Japan has distinctive differences among four seasons, each having its special characteristics. The climate in the southern areas is relatively moderate, while the middle and northern Japan will snow in winter and are famous for winter sports.
Image 1 of climate
Image 2 of climate
Learn more about the climate in Japan at
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/essential/climate.html.
The official weather forecast can be found at
http://www.jnto.go.jp/weather/eng/index.php.

Here we have gathered a number of hands-on tips to facilitate your trip planning and settling in Japan. If you have done a working holiday in Japan and have a tip or two to share, please email your thoughts to whsu@labour.gov.hk!
  • Be aware of the etiquettes and rules in Japanese cultures
  • Japan has some of the best ski resorts in the world – do not miss the beauty of winter and make sure you go skiing in Japan!
Mich Wong (2012-2013)
Surname stamps are required when opening a bank account in Japan. To make things easier, make sure you get at least two stamps with you from Hong Kong or online – one with surname only and one with your full name
Tra Yeung (2012-2014)
  • Japanese stay rather quiet on public transportation. Talk softly in case you have to chat with others
  • Japan has clear seasonal distinction but I recommend bringing 1 to 2 thick coat only – keep your luggage less bulky as you may have to move around a lot
Yola (2014-2015)
  • Settle in Tokyo or Osaka and you will find it easier to find groups of working holidaymaker online to ask for help with living utilities and job information
  • Know some basic Japanese and things will be easier. Be aware that the Kansai dialect is spoken in Osaka
Rainbow (2015-2016)
Garbage must be sorted and disposed in designated time. Individual district has different collection schedule for garbage and recyclable items, so make sure you check with the local municipal office. A fee is charged for all oversized garbage and prior reservation is required for collection – don't just dump it!
莉可 (2013-2014)
  • Open a saving account at post offices upon arrival– it is a lot easier than opening an account with banks
  • Make use of WWOOF to volunteer in exchange for free accommodation and food. Jobs can be found online or via magazines – do seek help from Hello Work if you can't speak Japanese well
阿良(2012-2013)
To integrate into the Japanese community, we should always ask ourselves "Will this cause trouble to the others?" before acting
Kata (2015)

Note: The useful tips provided in this webpage are the authors' own opinions and for reference only. Working holidaymakers are advised to research thoroughly and check up for updated and verified information before departure.

香港/日本工作假期计划于2010年1月1日生效,每年双方均提供1,500个名额。日本总领事馆要求申请者出示经济证明(200,000日元之存款证明),以示有能力在当地短期逗留。
关于简介的图片1
成功申请的人士,可获日本总领事馆签发一张工作假期签证,容许他们在日本逗留最多十二个月。申请人可于逗留期间从事短期工作,亦可修读短期课程。 有关详情及申请表可于以下网址下载:
http://www.hk.emb-japan.go.jp/eng/
http://www.vfsglobal.com/japan/Hongkong/English/index.html
本处提醒参加者在出发前须按照规定投购适当的医疗(包括治疗后运送)、住院及/或责任保险,以分担参与计划期间在当地可能须要支付的有关费用。

关于简介的图片2
个别工作假期计划的详细安排可能会有改变,参加者宜在申请前先向领事馆查询有关详情。

日本官方旅游网站提供详细旅游信息,包括热门景点、推介行程、本地文化介绍和各式协助,让你轻松筹备旅程。
关于旅游的图片1
旅游观光
在全球科技和电子产品领域上扮演着领导角色的日本,本身亦是深受旅客爱戴的旅游目的地。东京、京都、大阪和北海道的札幌都是热门旅游城市,四季分明的气候,让每段旅程都各有惊喜。
日本有不少景色壮丽的自然奇观,火山地貌尤为众多,周边地区逐渐演变成为世界知名的度假区。富士山是日本最具标志性的地标之一,高3,776米,为登山者带来无比考验。位于本洲阿尔卑斯山脉的中部山岳国立公园,山峰高耸入云,你甚至可以在这里找到全日本最高的几座山。
神道教起源于日本,历史悠久,所以在日本不难找到神宫和神社等宗教建筑。毗邻广岛市的宫岛有一座著名的严岛神社,在潮退时才会整个露出海面,被称为「海上鸟居」。古城奈良则有七座大寺,同样别具特色。

美食推介
日本料理,又称为「和食」,在2013年被联合国教育科学文化组织列入联合国非物质文化遗产名录。和食汇聚日本传统的饮食智慧,强调利用新鲜的食材,炮制出赏心悦目而且美味的佳肴。怀石料理是日本高档菜式的代表,讲求精致,每道菜的分量很少,但种类多而且十分丰富。
寿司、鱼生、天妇罗、面鼓汤和拉面是日本人的主食,可是不同地区的做法可能有所不同。到处游览了一整天,不妨像本地人般到居酒屋去品尝美食,放松心情,享受惬意时光。

关于旅游的图片2
地图
日本地图可参阅 http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/location/regional/maps/

根据香港特别行政区政府与日本政府签订的双边工作假期计划,工作假期参加者在以旅游为出访主要目的下,可于逗留日本期间从事短期工作,以补助旅费。
在工作假期计划下,工作只是为了补足旅费而被认可的附属活动,但个别工作的受雇期限并无特别限制。工作假期参加者可于以下网页,了解更多有关在日本认可从事工作的信息: http://www.hk.emb-japan.go.jp/eng/working_holiday.htmlhttp://www.hk.emb-japan.go.jp/eng/working_holiday_Q&A.html
关于工作的图片1
勞工權利你要知
工作假期参加者受日本法例保障。他们应该留意日本的劳工法例,在签署雇佣合约前,亦须了解清楚当中的条款。

日本的最低工资水平因应地区和行业而定,如果一个雇员同时适用于两个不同最低工资水平,则以较高工资水平为准。东京2018年的最低工资为每小时985日元。原则上,雇员的最高工时为每星期40小时或每天8小时(当中并不包括休息时间)。

欲知更多有关日本工作假期的信息,可浏览日本外务省网页( http://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/w_holiday/index.html)。

工作假期参加者可向外国人雇用服务中心(设于东京、大阪和名古屋),及部分地区的公共职业安定所(又称为「Hello Work」)寻求协助,详情可参阅厚生劳动省网页( http://www.mhlw.go.jp/english/policy/employ-labour/employment-security/foreignworkers.html)。


关于工作的图片2
工作假期参加者必须注意,此网页提供有关各个东道经济体系工作条件及劳工法例的信息只供参考及可能会不时更改。若需要更详细和最新的信息,请浏览有关经济体系的相关政府网页。

根据香港特别行政区政府与日本政府签订的双边工作假期计划,工作假期参加者可于逗留日本期间选择修读短期课程。
关于进修的图片1
关于进修的图片1
想了解更多有关在日本修读短期课程的资料,可参考以下网站:
http://www.studyjapan.go.jp/en/

你可因应个人的需要及预算,在日本找到不同种类的住宿,可供的选择包括青年旅馆、民宿及租货房屋等。
关于住宿的图片1
日本各式住宿选择的介绍,可参考
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/accomodations/index.html
关于住宿的图片2

日本有完善的公共交通网络,你可选择乘坐地铁、火车和公共汽车前往不同的旅游景点及地区,而其铁路更以安全及准时闻名。另外,部份交通工具更提供周游券(Rail Pass),供旅客选购。
关于交通的图片1
关于交通的图片2
更多有关日本交通的资料,可浏览以下网页:
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/transportation/index.html

日本的四季分明,春夏秋冬各有特色。南部地区气候比较温和;至于中部和北部地区在冬天均会下雪,并以冬季运动闻名。
关于气候的图片1
关于气候的图片2
日本气候的详情,可参阅 http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/essential/climate.html
官方天气网站 则备有天气预测信息。

我们收集了一些实用贴士,帮助你筹备日本工作假期,投入当地生活。如果你曾到日本工作假期,又希望分享你的心得,就立即将想法电邮至 whsu@labour.gov.hk吧!
  • 入乡随俗,日本文化有很多潜规则和礼仪,记得留意!
  • 记得去日本滑雪!日本有全世界上最好的滑雪场!
Mich Wong (2012-2013)
在日本开设银行账户,很多时候都需要圆形姓氏小印章。尽可能先在香港或网上制作两个小印章:一个姓氏,一个全名,那么办理手续的过程会更方便快捷。
Tra Yeung (2012-2014)
  • 日本人习惯乘公交车时都不会交谈,如有需要交谈也请轻声说话
  • 日本四季分明,一般都会带备很多衣物。我建议大褛只需要带备1-2件,因工作假期较多移动,多对象会较笨重及不方便
Yola (2014-2015)
  • 东京和大阪是热门下塌城市,有事求助时易于网络工作假期群组找到帮忙,购入家具、生活用品或得悉招聘信息
  • 具有基本日语会话能力,生活及找工作会较顺利。注意大阪人的关西腔跟一般日语略有不同
Rainbow (2015-2016)
日本家居垃圾不能乱丢,要先进行分类,再按时间拿去丢掉。每一区的垃圾分类和回收垃圾的时间都不一样,可以去自己那一区的区役所找到资料。另外丢大型垃圾是要付费,而且要预约回收时间的,大家别乱丢大型垃圾喔!
莉可 (2013-2014)
  • 初到日本建议去邮局办一个邮局银行户口,手续及要求比其他银行简单,方便把钱存起先
  • 你可以利用WWOOF,在网上寻找打工换宿,亦可尝试在各求职网站、杂志找工作。如果日语不好,亦可以前往Hello Work的政府机构寻求协助
阿良(2012-2013)
要顺利融入日本生活及工作,处事前应常常问自己「这样做会否带给人家麻烦?」,而且要比别人多想一步
Kata (2015)

提提你:以上各个实用贴士乃属提供者的个人意见及只供参考。工作假期参加者在出发前应做好资料搜集,以取得最新和有效的信息。