The Hong Kong/France Working Holiday Scheme was established on 1 July 2013 with both sides providing an annual quota of 750. The Consulate General of France in Hong Kong and Macao requires applicants to provide a financial proof of 2,500 Euros for maintenance during their stay in France.
Image 1 of overview
Successful applicants will be issued a working holiday visa by the Consulate General of France in Hong Kong and Macao, allowing them to stay in France for up to 12 months. They can take up short-term employment of not more than six months with the same employer and/or enrol in study courses of up to six months during the authorized period of stay. Details and application forms can be obtained from the following website:
http://www.consulfrance-hongkong.org

Image 2 of overview
Participants are required to take out suitable medical (including repatriation), hospitalisation and/or liability insurance before departure to cover the possible related costs incurred abroad.

Detailed arrangement of the Scheme may vary from time to time. Applicants are advised to check with the Consulate before application.
The official tourism website of France offers information on attractions, events and travel as a whole. It also provides inspiring themed trip ideas to accommodate different travel needs.

Scenic Highlights
Think of France and people will usually think of arts, fashion and romance. As the epicentre of this beautiful country, Paris is the home to some influential architectural and artistic establishments. The magnificent Louvre Museum, Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Notre Dame Cathedral are all available in this "City of Lights".
Image 1 of travel
Image 2 of travel
Besides Paris, Bordeaux and Lyon are two other popular cities for cultural explorers for they also have lots of fine architecture and well-preserved historic sites. Mont Saint-Michel, an island at the northwest shore in the Normandy region, is also highly welcomed by visitors with its packed and rugged medieval structures.
A lot of the French cities, coming with picturesque scenery composed by chateaux, vineyards and long coastal lines, are perfect for retreats. The South of France, in particular, makes a memorable destination. With a warmer weather, this part of the continent crowned by the well-known city Cannes is full of greens, wildlife, modern arts, beaches and wine.

Dining
Declared by the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization as "world intangible heritage", French cuisine is known for its exquisiteness and care for details. Michelin-starred restaurants and top chefs serving haute gourmet are in full supply in the country. Cafe selling traditional Pastisserie like éclair and mille-feuille and fine coffee are local's favourites and can easily be found in market square.
Besides great food, France is also the home to great wine. Wine regions like Bordeaux, Burgundy and Champagne offer wine-tasting tours that are fulfilling both to the eyes and to the tastebuds.

Map
Check out the map of France with highlighted travel areas at http://uk.france.fr/en/map/93325?tid_sites-incontournables=on

According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the French Government, working holidaymakers can take up short-term employment of not more than six months with the same employer during their stay in France.
Image 1 of work
You are free to apply for a wide range of job options within France according to your working experience and language skills. Some specific occupational requirements may apply.

Know your work rights
Working holidaymakers are protected by the law of France. They should be aware of the relevant labour legislation in France and be cautious in dealing with the terms and conditions laid down in the employment contracts.
The statutory national minimum wage in France is 9.88 EUR per hour in 2018. France also adopts a 35-hour workweek, but individual companies may deviate from the statutory requirement by offering benefits in exchange of extra working hours.
Additional information on relevant labour legislation and protection can be found at the website of the Ministry for Labour, Employment and Industrial Relations at http://travail-emploi.gouv.fr/ (French only). Working holidaymakers can also seek assistance from the Ministry for workplace dispute.

Image 2 of work
Working Holidaymakers are reminded that information about work conditions and labour laws of the respective host economies provided in this webpage are for reference only and subject to change. For comprehensive and updated information, please refer to the relevant government websites of the respective economies.

According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the French Government, working holidaymakers can take up study courses of up to six months during their stay in France.
Image 1 of study
Image 2 of study
Learn more about studying in France from http://www.consulfrance-hongkong.org/Study-in-France.

France offers a wide range of accommodation to suit your needs and budgets, from holiday cottages, villas and farmhouses to B&B (Bed and Breakfast), rental homes, apartments, youth hostels and hotels.
Image 1 of accommodation

France's public transportation system is one of the best in the world, making it very easy to travel from one city to another, even the smaller ones.
Image 1 of transportation
Image 2 of transportation

Subway/Railway
France is linked via railroad with SNCF – the French national rail system. With 14 SNFC lines and over 300 stations in the Paris region, the rail network is very comprehensive. You can pick up handy materials like regional maps and schedules at the information centre at any train station.

Bus
There are different bus operators in different cities. For example, the bus lines in Paris offer dense coverage of the city centre and the suburbs which is an excellent way to discover the city. Some bus lines also run overnight.

Air
Many major cities in France have an international airport and are also well served by domestic flights, making travel by air affordable and convenient.

Rental Cars
If you have an International Driving Permit, you can drive legally in France. You will be able to rent a car at each airport and in most train stations in the country.
For more information about travelling in France, please visit the following websites:
http://uk.france.fr/en/information/travelling-around-french-towns-and-cities
http://uk.france.fr/en/about-france

France has the benefit of a temperate climate. Continental France is divided into four climatic zones:
Image 1 of climate
Image 2 of climate
  1. Oceanic and humid climate with often cool summers to the west from Bayonne to Lille;

  2. Semi-continental climate with harsh winters and hot summers in Alsace, Lorraine, along the Rhône corridor and in the mountainous massifs (Alps, Pyrenees and Massif Central);

  3. Intermediate climate with cold winters and hot summers in the north, in Paris and central regions;

  4. Mediterranean climate with mild winters and very hot summers in southern France.
Learn more about the climate in France at
http://uk.france.fr/en/about-france/geography-and-climate.
The official weather forecast can be found at http://www.meteo.fr (French only).

Here we have gathered a number of hands-on tips to facilitate your trip planning and settling in France. If you have done a working holiday in France and have a tip or two to share, please email your thoughts to whsu@labour.gov.hk!
To open a bank account, you have to prepare all the documents needed and visit the appropriate branch. Not all staff would be well-aware of what a working holiday visa is, so to avoid rejection you may print out relevant information and explain to them if necessary
Alex Lai (2015-2016)
  • You need to know some basic French to look for a job in France, otherwise you could only work for Chinese employers
  • Get a SIM card from local mobile operator. Mobile data is not cheap in France but SIM card offers unlimited SMS, so people usually contact each other by text messages!
Louis Lam (2014-2015)
  • In France, people usually rent a room instead of an apartment, as it is more flexible and easier. The best way to search for one is from the Internet
  • Looking for cheaper means to travel between cities? Check whether you are eligible to apply for rail card, keep an eye on train or flight promotion, and also consider carpooling
Louis Lam (2014-2015)
  • If you ask French people questions in English, they may think that you are very impolite
  • You do not need to bring too much clothes to France, because clothes available in France which suit local weather are not expensive at all
查理 (2013-2014)
Consider buying a car if you have the money to spend and there is a need (e.g. work place is far away), but it is not a must as transportation in France is quite convenient. Be reminded that most cars in France are manual transmissions
Samuel Wu (2014-2015)
Useful terms in French:
  • Covoiturage = hitch hiking
  • Colocation = flat sharing
  • SMIC = minimum wage in France
  • Chèque Déjeuner = meal vouchers given by the employers; redeemable at designated restaurants
Samuel Wu (2014-2015)

Note: The useful tips provided in this webpage are the authors' own opinions and for reference only. Working holidaymakers are advised to research thoroughly and check up for updated and verified information before departure.

香港/法國工作假期計劃於2013年7月1日生效,每年雙方均提供750個名額。法國駐港澳總領事館要求申請者出示經濟證明(2,500歐元之存款證明),以示有能力在當地短期逗留。
關於簡介的圖片1
成功申請的人士,可獲法國駐港澳總領事館簽發一張工作假期簽證,容許他們在法國逗留最多十二個月。申請人可於逗留期間從事短期工作,惟受聘於同一僱主的工作時間不能超過六個月,及/或修讀總計不多於六個月的短期課程。有關詳情及申請表格可於以下網址下載:
http://www.consulfrance-hongkong.org

關於簡介的圖片2
本處提醒參加者在出發前須按照規定投購適當的醫療(包括治療後運送)、住院及/或責任保險,以分擔參與計劃期間在當地可能須要支付的有關費用。

個別工作假期計劃的詳細安排可能會有改變,參加者宜在申請前先向領事館查詢有關詳情。
法國官方旅遊網站提供景點、節慶活動和其他旅遊資訊,亦有富啟發性的主題旅程建議,迎合不同需要。

旅遊觀光
提起法國,人們通常都會聯想到藝術、潮流時尚和浪漫情懷。巴黎是法國的首都,被稱為「光之都」,是不少重要建築和藝術中心的所在地,包括舉世聞名的羅浮宮、艾菲爾鐵塔、凱旋門和巴黎聖母院等。
關於旅遊的圖片1
關於旅遊的圖片2
除了巴黎以外,波爾多和里昂也有不少精妙建築和保存良好的歷史遺跡,同樣受文化愛好者歡迎。位於法國西北海岸、諾曼底的小島聖米歇爾山,屹立着密密麻麻的中世紀建築物,也是熱門的目的地之一。
綿長的海岸線,加上古典教堂和優美酒莊,是法國城市讓人陶醉的魅力所在。不少人特別鍾情法國南部康城等地,那裡氣候和暖,旅客除了可以親親大自然、漫步沙灘外,亦可欣賞現代藝術,細嘗佳餚美酒,享受生活。

美食推介
法國菜被聯合國教育科學文化組織列入聯合國非物質文化遺產名錄,以精緻和著重細節見稱。法國雲集來自世界各地的高級料理名廚,更不乏米芝蓮星級餐廳。本地人最愛流連咖啡店,品味法式泡芙éclair、法式千層酥mille-feuille和精品咖啡,所以在廣場內總能找到咖啡店。
除了佳餚外,法國亦出產美酒。波爾多、勃艮第和香檳地區等地的酒廠都提供品酒體驗,既能一睹酒莊風情,也能細味佳釀。

地圖

根據香港特別行政區政府與法國政府簽訂的雙邊工作假期計劃,工作假期參加者可於逗留法國期間從事短期工作,惟受聘於同一僱主的時間不得超過六個月。
關於工作的圖片1
法國的工作種類繁多,你可以因應自己的工作經驗和語言能力作出申請。一些工作可能會有特定的職業要求。

勞工權利你要知
工作假期參加者受法國法例保障。他們應該留意法國的勞工法例,在簽署僱傭合約前,亦須了解清楚當中的條款。
法國2018年的最低工資為每小時9.88歐元。法國亦實施每週工作35小時的制度,但個別企業可以透過向員工提供額外福利,換取更長的工作時間。
欲知更多有關法國勞工法例和保障的資訊,可瀏覽法國政府網頁( http://travail-emploi.gouv.fr/ ,只有法文)。工作假期參加者如需就工作糾紛尋求協助,亦可聯絡有關政府部門。

關於工作的圖片2
工作假期參加者必須注意,此網頁提供有關各個東道經濟體系工作條件及勞工法例的資訊只供參考及可能會不時更改。若需要更詳細和最新的資訊,請瀏覽有關經濟體系的相關政府網頁。

根據香港特別行政區政府與法國政府簽訂的雙邊工作假期計劃,工作假期參加者可於逗留法國期間選擇修讀總計不多於六個月的短期課程。
關於進修的圖片1
關於進修的圖片2
想了解更多有關在法國修讀短期課程的資料,可參考以下網站: http://www.consulfrance-hongkong.org/Study-in-France

你可因應個人的需要和預算,在法國找到不同種類的住宿,從度假別墅和農莊到B&B(即Bed and Breakfast床與早餐)的住宿方式、出租公寓、青年旅舍及酒店等。
關於住宿的圖片1

法國的公共交通系統是世界上數一數二的,讓你輕鬆方便地從一個城市走到下一個。
關於交通的圖片1
關於交通的圖片2

地鐵/火車
法國的鐵路系統SNCF連接全國,鐵路網絡非常廣闊,共備有14條鐵路線,單在巴黎地區就已有超過300個車站。你可於任何火車站的查詢中心索取有用資料,如區域地圖和時間表等。

公共汽車
不同城市的公共巴士服務由不同機構營運,以巴黎為例,公共巴士網絡覆蓋市中心和郊區,方便你盡情探索。部分巴士路線亦提供通宵服務。

航空
法國主要城市都建有國際機場,同時支援國內航線,讓你享受方便且價錢實惠的航程。

租車駕駛
如你持有國際駕駛執照,就可以在法國合法駕駛。機場和大部的鐵路站附近都設有租車處。

法國享有溫和怡人的氣候。根據不同的氣候類型劃分法國為四個大區:
關於氣候的圖片1
關於氣候的圖片2
  1. 西部貝約那至里爾(Bayonne to Lille)一帶屬海洋性濕潤氣候,夏季通常很涼爽;

  2. 亞爾薩斯(Alsace)、洛林(Lorraine)、羅訥河沿岸和高原地帶(阿爾卑斯、比利牛斯和中央高原)屬半大陸性氣候,冬季嚴寒,夏季炎熱;

  3. 北部巴黎地區和中部地區屬中性氣候,冬季寒冷,夏季炎熱;

  4. 南部屬地中海氣候,冬季溫和,夏季酷熱。
官方天氣網站( http://www.meteo.fr ,只有法文)則備有天氣預測資訊。

我們收集了一些實用貼士,幫助你籌備法國工作假期,投入當地生活。如果你曾到法國工作假期,又希望分享你的心得,就立即將想法電郵至 whsu@labour.gov.hk吧!
在法國開銀行戶口需要膽大心細。一方面細心準備開戶所需資料,準備妥當後問清楚去哪家所屬分行辦理。另一方面弄清楚對方職員是否了解實情,有可能銀行職員不認識工作假期簽證就拒絕申請,所以有需要時預先印一些資料向他們解釋
Alex Lai (2015-2016)
  • 去法國之前你最好認識一點法文,否則能選擇的工種不多,只能替華人打工了
  • 從電訊商那裡買張SIM卡,方便日常溝通。法國的手機數據收費很高,但有SIM卡就可以無限傳收短訊,所以大家都是用短訊聯繫的
Louis Lam (2014-2015)
  • 住宿方面,法國人通常租用房間而非整個單位,認為這更容易,又具彈性。最好的搜尋方法是上互聯網找
  • 想以優惠價錢遊覽各個城市?留意你是否合資格申請鐵路卡,不時注意鐵路和航班優惠,也可考慮與人共乘,攤分車資
Louis Lam (2014-2015)
  • 如果你在法國直接用英文提問的話,他們會覺得你很沒禮貌
  • 其實不用帶太多衣服,因為當地買適用於當地天氣的衣服都不貴
查理 (2013-2014)
如果你預算充裕,而又有需要的話(例如工作地點偏遠),買車代步也無妨。不過法國交通尚算方便,即使無車也不是太大問題。順帶一提,法國大部份的車也是棍波車
Samuel Wu(2014-2015)
有用法文
  • Covoiturage = 搭順風車
  • Colocation = 和室友分租地方
  • SMIC = 最低工資
  • Chèque Déjeuner =老闆給你的午餐券,可到任何接受餐券的餐廳吃飯
Samuel Wu(2014-2015)

提提你:以上各個實用貼士乃屬提供者的個人意見及只供參考。工作假期參加者在出發前應做好資料搜集,以取得最新和有效的資訊。