The Hong Kong/Ireland Working Holiday Scheme was established on 1 March 2005, providing an annual quota of 200 for each side. The consulate of Ireland requires applicants to provide financial proof of HK$25,000 for maintenance during their stay in Ireland.
Image 1 of overview
Successful applicants will be issued a working holiday visa by the Irish Government, allowing them to stay in Ireland for up to 12 months, during which they can take up short-term employment of not more than three months for the same employer. Details and application forms can be obtained from the following website: https://www.dfa.ie/irish-consulate/hong-kong/.

Image 2 of overview
Participants are required to take out suitable medical (including repatriation), hospitalisation and/or liability insurance before departure to cover the possible related costs incurred abroad.

Detailed arrangements of the Scheme may vary from time to time. Applicants are advised to check with the Consulate before application.
Make use of your working holiday to discover the stunning scenery, splendid castles, vibrant cities and fun-filled activities in Ireland! The official tourism websites of Ireland ( http://www.ireland.com/ and http://www.discoverireland.ie ) provide information on attractions, events and festivities as well as accommodation and transportation.
Scenic Highlights
Image 1 of travel
Dublin, the capital city of the Republic of Ireland, is a cosmopolitan and bustling city. The oldest university in Ireland, Trinity College, is founded in 1592 and famed for its exhibit of the Book of Kells. If you are in Dublin Castle, you can find the heart of historic Dublin. The largest visible fragment of the original 13th century Norman Castle is the Record Tower. If you want to discover how Guinness is made and sample some while enjoying spectacular views of Dublin from the Gravity Bar, the Guinness Storehouse is definitely the best place to go.
The second large city, Cork, is also a wonderful place. Since the day-time is short in Cork, the nightlife over there is cheerful. The town centre is located in the central part of Lee River. Besides, you can enjoy numerous outdoors activities like hiking and water sports.

Dining
The bars in Ireland are well-known. The old-style wood floor boards, ancient decoration on the wall and harmonic music in bars give you a warm feeling. The main dishes are mostly served with beef, lamb and pork. What's more, you can enjoy the mouth-watering food like fresh bread, toast cake, smoke-bacon, and special pasty.

Location Condition
In Ireland, English is one of the official languages. However, Irish is spoken daily in Gaeltacht areas. Most people in Ireland love music. That's why you can listen to graceful traditional music performed with violin, 6-hole flute, sheep-skin drum and piper in cities or small towns.

Image 2 of travel
Map
Check out the map of Ireland at http://www.ireland.com/map/.
According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the Irish Government, working holidaymakers can take up short-term employment of not more than three months with the same employer during their stay in Ireland.
Know your work rights
Working holidaymakers are protected by the law of Ireland. They should be aware of the relevant labour legislation in Ireland and be cautious in dealing with the terms and conditions laid down in the employment contracts.
The national minimum wage in Ireland is 9.55 EUR per hour in 2018. The maximum number of hours that an employee should work in an average working week is 48 hours. This working week average should be calculated over a four-month period. For details, please visit https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en/What_You_Should_Know/Wages_and_Methods_of_Payments/ and https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en/What_You_Should_Know/Working_Hours/.
Additional information on relevant labour legislation and protection can be found at the website of Workplace Relations Commission at https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en.   Working holidaymakers can also seek further assistance from the Workplace Relations Commission for workplace dispute.

Image 2 of work
Working Holidaymakers are reminded that information about work conditions and labour laws of the respective host economies provided in this webpage are for reference only and subject to change. For comprehensive and updated information, please refer to the relevant government websites of the respective economies.
According to the bilateral working holiday scheme established between HKSAR Government and the Irish Government, working holidaymakers are not allowed to enrol in study courses during their stay in Ireland.

Image 1 accommodation
Flat / Room for rent
For a longer accommodation, you can rent a flat with basic facilities like television, Hi-Fi and cooking appliances. If you want to pay less, you can share the flat with others.
Image 2 accommodation
Hostel and B&B
Youth hostels in Ireland provide most you need. Besides, B&B (which means Bed and Breakfast) is popular in Ireland, making you feeling like home.

Hotel
If you want to experience the luxury living style in Ireland, you may try to stay in castles, elegant country houses, manor houses, village inns or contemporary hotel.
For more information, the official tourism websites give an overview on the accommodation options available in Ireland: http://www.ireland.com/accommodation/ and http://www.discoverireland.ie/where-to-stay/.

Public Transport
The convenient bus and railway services are provided by CIÉ in Ireland .   Tourist tickets and sightseeing bus tours allow you to experience the best that Ireland has to offer.

Rental Cars
With an International Driving Permit, you may rent a car to get around Ireland. You can find most rental companies in cities, ferry pier and airport.
Image 1 of transportation
Image 2 of transportation
More information about getting around in Ireland can be found at: http://www.ireland.com/about-ireland/travelling-within-ireland/.
Image 1 of climate
Ireland is located in temperate zone with oceanic climate. In spring, there is little rain or even no rain in east coast. You can enjoy the most beautiful sunshine in May and June. The weather is pleasant in July and August. However, it's frosty in December and January.
Image 2 of climate
The official weather forecast can be found at http://www.met.ie/.
Here we have gathered a number of hands-on tips to facilitate your trip planning and settling in Ireland. If you have done a working holiday in Ireland and have a tip or two to share, please email your thoughts to whsu@labour.gov.hk!
Locals love to go the bars for beer after work or in the weekend. It is easy to make friends if you are bold enough to initiate conversation!
Suki (2014-2015)
Local Irish need to learn the traditional Irish language when they are small, but only a few regions (like Aran Island) speak it. English is all you need to know to survive in Ireland.
Suki (2014-2015)
Major Irish cities have tourist information office, offering maps and tourism leaflets for attractions (including admission fees and opening hours). Staff there can offer travel tips and help you book train/bus/ferry tickets.
Eva (2014)
  • Bring an umbrella as it is always raining, but soon you will get used to it and walk under little rain without any cover
  • Arrive in March, April or May – you have higher chances getting a restaurant job before summer
Kimkam (2014-2015)
Get an address verification after arrival to apply for:
  • Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB) registration card – to prove that you are legally permitted to live and work for one year
  • Public Personal Service Number (PPSN) – tax number for legal jobs
  • Back Account
Kimkam (2014-2015)
  • Popular cities to settle in: Dublin, Galway and Cork
  • Those who need to take public transport for work daily should consider buying a monthly pass. Dublin’s version of Octopus Card is called Leap card, but it can only be used to pay transport fees (applicable in Lucas, Dart and buses)
Connie (2013-2014)

Note: The useful tips provided in this webpage are the authors' own opinions and for reference only. Working holidaymakers are advised to research thoroughly and check up for updated and verified information before departure.

香港/愛爾蘭工作假期計劃於2005年3月1日生效,每年雙方均提供200個名額。愛爾蘭領事館要求申請者出示經濟證明(港幣25,000元之存款證明),以示有能力在當地短期逗留。
關於簡介的圖片1
成功申請的人士,可獲愛爾蘭政府簽發一張工作假期簽證,容許他們在愛爾蘭逗留最多十二個月。申請人可於逗留期間從事短期工作,惟受聘於同一僱主的工作期限不能超過三個月。有關詳情及申請表格可於以下網址下載: https://www.dfa.ie/irish-consulate/hong-kong/

關於簡介的圖片2
本處提醒參加者在出發前須按照規定投購適當的醫療(包括治療後運送)、住院及/或責任保險,以分擔參與計劃期間在當地可能須要支付的有關費用。

個別工作假期計劃的詳細安排可能會有改變,參加者宜在申請前先向領事館查詢有關詳情。
好好利用你的工作假期,細味愛爾蘭的迷人景致,到訪壯麗堡壘,並遊走於特色小鎮之間,發掘有趣的人和事吧!官方旅遊網站( http://www.ireland.com/http://www.discoverireland.ie )提供完備的景點與節慶活動資訊,當然還少不了住宿和交通指南。
旅遊觀光
關於旅遊的圖片1
既為愛爾蘭首都亦為商業活動主要城市,都柏林(Dublin)的好去處當然不少!三一學院(Trinity College)於1592年成立,是當地最古老的大學,展出著名的《凱爾經》(Book of Kells)。遊覽都柏林城堡(Dublin Castle)令你身處都柏林古城的中心地帶,而Record Tower則令你見識13世紀Norman Castle的壯麗。愛爾蘭出產健力士啤酒,想了解這種黑麥啤酒的製作過程,就要到健力士啤酒博物館去了。在博物館內的Gravity Bar,更可讓你一覽都柏林美麗的景色。
愛爾蘭第二大城市科克(Cork),同樣十分迷人。身處其中白天過得特別快,一到晚上熱鬧的夜生活洋溢在酒吧之中,而市中心竟是在李河(Lee River)中央的島上,特別得很!除此之外,戶外活動如遠足及水上活動也有不少選擇。

美食推介
愛爾蘭的酒吧很有名,有些餐廳地面以仿舊木地板鋪陳,牆上滿掛著古老裝飾物,配合悠揚的愛爾蘭音樂,感覺溫暖。當地食物特別以牛肉、羊肉和豬肉為主,麵包和烤餅也不錯,而煙肉、椰菜、果子麵包和特式餡餅都是傳統菜式。

風土民情
英語是愛爾蘭其中一種官方語言,但部分地區的居民仍會以愛爾蘭語為母語。愛爾蘭人喜歡音樂,無論是大城市抑或小鄉鎮,都可以在酒吧內聽到優美的愛爾蘭傳統音樂,而且差不多每個村落也有因音樂而聞名的酒館。傳統音樂大多以小提琴、六孔小笛、羊皮鼓和風笛演奏。

關於旅遊的圖片2
地圖
你可在 http://www.ireland.com/map/ 找到愛爾蘭地圖。
根據香港特別行政區政府與愛爾蘭政府簽訂的雙邊工作假期計劃,工作假期參加者可於逗留愛爾蘭期間從事短期工作,惟受聘於同一僱主的時間不得超過三個月。
勞工權利你要知
工作假期參加者受愛爾蘭法例保障。他們應該留意愛爾蘭的勞工法例,在簽署僱傭合約前,亦須了解清楚當中的條款。
愛爾蘭2018年的最低工資為每小時9.55歐元。僱員平均每星期不能工作多於48小時,平均計算期為四個月。詳情請瀏覽愛爾蘭政府網頁( https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en/What_You_Should_Know/Wages_and_Methods_of_Payments/ )和 ( https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en/What_You_Should_Know/Working_Hours/)。
欲知更多有關愛爾蘭勞工法例和保障的資訊,可瀏覽Workplace Relations Commission網頁( https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en )。工作假期參加者如需就工作糾紛尋求協助,亦可與其聯絡。

關於工作的圖片2
工作假期參加者必須注意,此網頁提供有關各個東道經濟體系工作條件及勞工法例的資訊只供參考及可能會不時更改。若需要更詳細和最新的資訊,請瀏覽有關經濟體系的相關政府網頁。
根據香港特別行政區政府與愛爾蘭政府簽訂的雙邊工作假期計劃,工作假期參加者不能於逗留愛爾蘭期間修讀短期課程。

關於住宿的圖片1
租住單位/房間
愛爾蘭當地可供租住的單位,大部分都包括基本設備,如電視、音響、煮食用具等,如要再廉宜一點,則可能需要與其他人合租。
關於住宿的圖片2
旅館及B&B
愛爾蘭的青年旅館供應日常一般生活設施,而B&B(即Bed and Breakfast床與早餐)的住宿方式亦非常盛行,令你有在家的感覺。

酒店歎一歎
想間中「豪」一「豪」入住特色酒店?不妨入住愛爾蘭的酒店,其選擇繁多,豪華式、堡壘式、鄉村式、莊園式、旅館式或現代式等等,悉隨尊便,盡情歎一歎。

如欲了解更多詳情,可瀏覽愛爾蘭官方旅遊網站,當中備有當地住宿選擇概覽: http://www.ireland.com/accommodation/http://www.discoverireland.ie/where-to-stay/
公共交通
愛爾蘭的公共巴士或鐵路運輸服務大多由 C I É 提供。你可以購買旅客車票,或乘坐觀光巴士,細味愛爾蘭各處的風光。

租車駕駛
擁有國際駕駛執照的你,或可選擇在愛爾蘭租車駕駛。大部分租車公司均在市內、碼頭和機場設有聯絡處。
關於交通的圖片1
關於交通的圖片2
想取得更多愛爾蘭的交通資訊,可瀏覽 http://www.ireland.com/about-ireland/travelling-within-ireland/
關於氣候的圖片1
愛爾蘭屬溫帶海洋性氣候,春天是雨量最少的季節,東岸幾乎不會下雨。五、六月陽光最燦爛,七月、八月溫度怡人,但十二月、一月雨多嚴寒。
關於氣候的圖片2
官方天氣網站 則備有天氣預測資訊。
我們收集了一些實用貼士,幫助你籌備愛爾蘭工作假期,投入當地生活。如果你曾到愛爾蘭工作假期,又希望分享你的心得,就立即將想法電郵至 whsu@labour.gov.hk吧!
當地人喜歡下班或週末到酒吧喝幾杯啤酒,只要你肯開口,一定能交到朋友!
Suki(2014-2015)
愛爾蘭人從小要學愛爾蘭語,只有在少數地區(如Aran Island)有愛爾蘭人說傳統愛爾蘭語,而在愛爾蘭用英語就可以了。
Suki(2014-2015)
愛爾蘭大部分的城市都有Tourist Information Office,你可在那裡拿到地圖和景點介紹,裡面有齊景點的開放時間和收費,職員會為你提供意見及預訂車船票
Eva(2014)
  • 愛爾蘭經常下雨,出門記緊帶備雨傘。但漸漸你就會習以為常,從容走在雨下的了
  • 在3至5月、即夏季前到達愛爾蘭的話,會有較高機會在餐廳找到工作
Kimkam(2014-2015)
到步後,先取得住址證明,然後申請:
  • GNIB卡:證明你合法於愛爾蘭逗留一年,並且可以工作
  • PPSN:社會福利號碼,用於報稅
  • 銀行戶口
Kimkam(2014-2015)
  • 都柏林、高威和科克是熱門的下塌城市
  • 如需坐交通工具上下班,買月票是最好的。都柏林的Leap card和八達通卡相似,但只限搭車使用(輕鐵Luas、火車Dart、巴士亦可用)
Connie (2013-2014)

提提你:以上各個實用貼士乃屬提供者的個人意見及只供參考。工作假期參加者在出發前應做好資料搜集,以取得最新和有效的資訊。